Forums
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Nov 01, 2014 2:16 am



Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 making pie work 
Author Message

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:25 am
Posts: 2
Post making pie work
I have been trying to make pie work on my site. I have changed from the htc file to the php file. I have made the position relative. I already had it in a container div and I just added the pie attributes to it. Here is my code.

#navigation { font-size: 90%; text-align: left; float: right; margin: 0px 25px 10px 0px; padding: 5px 2px 20px 3px; border: double 4px #ff8539; position: relative; width: 250px; height: auto; -moz-border-radius: 10px; -webkit-border-radius: 10px; behavior: url('http://www.tristateadvantage.com/
PIE.php); border-radius: 10px }

The only other option is to alter the htaccess file which I am reluctant to do as my information says it will slow down the server. Am I being paranoid about that as I have never made changes to the htaccess file? Before I try that I would like to make sure my code is correct.
Thank you


Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:13 am
Profile

Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 9:25 am
Posts: 2
Post Re: making pie work
I should add I am working with IE8 right now. Have not tried the other IE's.


Tue Sep 07, 2010 10:15 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:46 am
Posts: 1446
Post Re: making pie work
Assuming your server runs PHP code, there should be no reason to modify the .htaccess; the PHP file should do the trick as far as the content-type goes.

Your code snippet looks fine at first glance. Is there a public URL where we can take a look?


Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:13 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: making pie work
I'm having the same problem.

behavior: url(/border-radius.htc) works fine for me, but behavior: url(/PIE.htc) does not, neither does behavior: url(/PIE.php)

all three files are in my webroot.

that indicates to me that the htc file type is not the problem and neither is the root relative url being used (since /border-radius.htc works just fine.

the only remaining idea I have is that somehow, PIE is not happy with my css where border-radius works fine:


#mydiv {
background:url(/img/bg_mydiv.png);
width:800px;
height:300px;
border:8px solid #fa0;
-moz-border-radius:45px;
-webkit-border-radius:45px;
-border-radius:45px;
margin:0 auto;
text-align:left;
-moz-box-shadow:7px 7px 25px rgba(0,0,0,.2);
-webkit-box-shadow:2px 2px 10px #ccc;
box-shadow:2px 2px 10px #ccc;
/** MSIE HACKS **/
behavior:url(/PIE.htc);
}


Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:09 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:46 am
Posts: 1446
Post Re: making pie work
You're specifying -border-radius:45px; ... it shouldn't have a leading dash. Not sure if that's the whole issue but it should be a start. ;)


Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:47 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: making pie work
jason wrote:
You're specifying -border-radius:45px; ... it shouldn't have a leading dash. Not sure if that's the whole issue but it should be a start. ;)


oops, that was a problem with my posting process, not the actual code. I had copy-pasted the relevant code into a text file earlier and while I was fiddling with PIE trying to get it to work, I realized it had that dash there and removed it from my actual code and proceeded to re-test it across the board. Then when I came here to post my question, I had already closed my remote css document and out of laziness used the version in my text file.

So anyway, I just went to look at my live code and confirmed the leading dash is not there. I also tried invoking PIE in a few other definitions in my css file and it doesn't seem to be working in any. :(

but as indicated earlier, border-radius.htc works ok... but it just won't handle anything other than rounded corners and I was greedily looking to get as much css3 yumminess for IE as I could.


Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:12 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:46 am
Posts: 1446
Post Re: making pie work
Is there a public URL you can give so we can take a look?


Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:38 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:03 pm
Posts: 3
Post Re: making pie work
Alas, I'm afraid there is no public server available for this site. :(


Sun Sep 26, 2010 1:18 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.