Forums
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:18 pm



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Pie.htc no work with sef url in joomla 
Author Message

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 8:23 pm
Posts: 4
Post Pie.htc no work with sef url in joomla
Hello, I have the following problem in joomla, the pie.htc use it, works perfect, but when I turn on the SEF pie.htc to function, could someone give me a solution to achieve 100% success. cheers


Tue May 24, 2011 8:55 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Leeds
Post Re: Pie.htc no work with sef url in joomla
I'd guess that the most likely reason is that the URL re-writes are making your link to the htc file point to the wrong place.

When SEF URLs are not applied, Joomla sees all pages as being in the root directory, presumably where your PIE.htc file is located. When turned on, I'm guessing that it will then be looking for the htc file under each page's directory, rather than in the root, and thus getting a file not found for every page but the homepage.

Try making your link to the PIE htc file include the full URL (including the http:// bit), and make sure that when the SEF URLs are turned on, you can still access the htc file by going directly to this link.


Sat May 28, 2011 2:39 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 8:23 pm
Posts: 4
Post Re: Pie.htc no work with sef url in joomla
Hello, I'm sorry, but not how to get it right, you could be clearer, giving a simpler example, my file PIE.HTC is at the root of the site, I should put it where? Please enable sef take much of my site and make it work with the PIE.HTC, I await an answer, thank you, cheers


Mon Jun 13, 2011 12:58 pm
Profile

Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Leeds
Post Re: Pie.htc no work with sef url in joomla
My guess is that you are probably linking to PIE in your CSS with code which is similar to this:

behavior: url(PIE.htc);

If you instead link to it with the full URL of where to find it on your site:

behavior: url(http://www.domain.com/PIE.htc);

then this *might* be a solution.

The reason I think this might be the solution is because the documentation for PIE says "PIE.htc is loaded relative to the HTML file being viewed, not the CSS file it is called from."

Non-SEF Joomla URLs are all called from the root:

http://www.domain.com/index.php?category=1
http://www.domain.com/index.php?category=2
http://www.domain.com/index.php?category=3

And so these will all be looking for PIE.htc here: http://www.domain.com/PIE.htc

Whereas SEF URLs have folders...

http://www.domain.com/category1/
http://www.domain.com/category2/
http://www.domain.com/category3/

And so these will probably want to see PIE.htc in the root of each folder, and not in the site root:

http://www.domain.com/category1/PIE.htc
http://www.domain.com/category2/PIE.htc
http://www.domain.com/category3/PIE.htc

If this is indeed causing the problem, then I'd imagine that your homepage will still be working when SEF is turned on, but the rest of the site will no longer work since the homepage will be the only page not in a subfolder, and so will be the only one which actually finds the PIE.htc file.

If this is the problem and my suggested fix does not work, you might be worth looking at using the javascript version of PIE instead.


Wed Jun 15, 2011 10:14 am
Profile WWW

Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 8:23 pm
Posts: 4
Post Re: Pie.htc no work with sef url in joomla
Richard thank you very much, worked perfect, I used the method suggested by you, and now my site in joomla PIE.htc and works perfect with SEF on, thank you.

behavior: url (http://yoursite.com.br / PIE.htc);

this was the perfect method to work.


Wed Jun 15, 2011 7:38 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:33 pm
Posts: 1
Post Re: Pie.htc no work with sef url in joomla
If you have control over htaccess files, you can achieve the same result with this:

Code:
RewriteRule (/?pie\.htc)$ $1 [L]


If your website already runs with an htaccess file, you should put that code after "RewriteBase" (if there is one).
*backup original file and be careful with the htaccess file of a live site!

edit:
My "pie.htc" is lowercase. Because linux servers are case-sensitive compared to windows servers, I always lowercase my files.

edit2:
Using the same htaccess trick, you might also want to declare the mime-type for HTC files in the htaccess file if necessary:

Code:
Content-type: text/x-component


Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:37 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:31 am
Posts: 4
Post Re: Pie.htc no work with sef url in joomla
kamidan wrote:
edit:
My "pie.htc" is lowercase. Because linux servers are case-sensitive compared to windows servers, I always lowercase my files.

edit2:
Using the same htaccess trick, you might also want to declare the mime-type for HTC files in the htaccess file if necessary:

Code:
Content-type: text/x-component


Kamidan,
Well, you should also inform less experienced users about the change of lowercases. Do you also lowercase variabales into the js and php files? I checked and there exist many var in capitals (PIE).

Where exactly in htaccess file should someone put the declaration for mime type for HTC files?


Sun Oct 20, 2013 10:35 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.