Forums
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:46 pm



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 PIE fails until the official demo page is visited.. 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:14 pm
Posts: 12
Post PIE fails until the official demo page is visited..
Hi,

Ok this is a strange one. I've been testing CSS PIE out, and had a range of things working quite nicely.

Then out-of-the-blue all of the PIE effects starting failing.

After going around in circles for 30 minutes I thought I'd double check that your demo page was still working (http://css3pie.com/demos/tabs/)

It was, and then when I reloaded my local test page, that miraculously started working again.

Strange, or what?


Cheers,
Dan


Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:19 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:46 am
Posts: 1446
Post Re: PIE fails until the official demo page is visited..
I don't know what to say... :shock: I can't think of a single reason why visiting something on a different domain would have anything to do with that. Are you sure that's not just a coincidence?


Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:04 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:14 pm
Posts: 12
Post Re: PIE fails until the official demo page is visited..
One can never be sure of these things, but I spent that 30 minutes running every other test that I could think of, to no avail.

I wonder if the .htaccess AddType fix is present on css3pie.com? I had that in my local test environment initially, then removed it when it became obvious that I didn't need it.

Maybe I did need it? Could the css3pie.com .htaccess have triggered IE7 to refresh it's cache for this file? Maybe?

Maybe next time I'll try restarting Apache, and see if that helps.


Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:14 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:46 am
Posts: 1446
Post Re: PIE fails until the official demo page is visited..
The AddType fix is in place on css3pie.com, but that still shouldn't matter. There shouldn't be any "caching" going on between the domains at all, that would be very bad if PIE.htc from one domain affected PIE.htc from another. They're completely different files and shouldn't share any sort of cache entries at all. Very strange. If you see this again, definitely post back here.


Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:27 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 6:14 pm
Posts: 12
Post Re: PIE fails until the official demo page is visited..
Thanks, will do :)


Wed Feb 02, 2011 9:36 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Exabot [Bot], Google [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.