Forums
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Jul 23, 2014 10:04 am



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Border Radius Works on IE6 and IE8 but not IE7 
Author Message

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:11 pm
Posts: 4
Post Border Radius Works on IE6 and IE8 but not IE7
First of all, great tool!

I am having a weird issue that I couldn't find in the common issues or from searching / browsing.

I am using the border-radius property and it works in IE6 and IE8 in both regular and compatibility modes, but not in IE7. I downloaded the latest version and placed it in the relative location script/ie/PIE.htc

Below is the exact code I can use to reproduce this. Anyone experience this and know how to fix it?
Code:
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
    <title></title>
    <style>   
    #navigation
    {
        background-color: #008a97;
        border-radius: 10px 10px 0 0;
        -moz-border-radius: 10px 10px 0 0;
        -webkit-border-radius: 10px 10px 0 0;
        color: #ffffff;
        font-size: 12px;
        height: 50px;
        line-height: 50px;
        text-align: center;
        behavior: url(script/ie/PIE.htc);
    }
    </style>
</head>
<body>
    <div id="navigation">
    </div>
</body>
</html>


Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:33 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:46 am
Posts: 1441
Post Re: Border Radius Works on IE6 and IE8 but not IE7
That code works just fine in my IE7.

Are you able to see other instances of PIE working in that install of IE7? E.g. the css3pie.com site?


Thu Jan 20, 2011 10:39 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:11 pm
Posts: 4
Post Re: Border Radius Works on IE6 and IE8 but not IE7
Thank you for the quick reply.

Yes, css3pie.com works for me but just not the example I posted. I tried other users with IE7 here at work and they can't seem to see it either however I was able to copy the site locally and it works in IE7 now so that points to something else causing the issue.

It's on a LAMP server and at first I forgot about the case-sensitive nature of the file-system but once I fixed the reference I could view it properly in IE6 and IE8.

It sounds like there is something going on with the file reference but I haven't yet figured out what. I'll try somer other things like putting PIE.htc in the same directory and work from there.


Fri Jan 21, 2011 7:53 am
Profile

Joined: Wed Jul 14, 2010 11:46 am
Posts: 1441
Post Re: Border Radius Works on IE6 and IE8 but not IE7
Sounds good. Also double-check that it's serving the correct content-type for the htc file.


Fri Jan 21, 2011 12:41 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:11 pm
Posts: 4
Post Re: Border Radius Works on IE6 and IE8 but not IE7
Well, it was the content type. I ignored it because it worked on some computers, but I've now added a .htaccess file with the appropriate content type and it works.

UUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUGH.

Anyway, thank you for the help and great product.


Fri Jan 21, 2011 1:00 pm
Profile

Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 4:11 pm
Posts: 4
Post Re: Border Radius Works on IE6 and IE8 but not IE7
For an added tip on this from my testing.. (not sure if it is correct but it is what I noticed)

Computers with IE8 installed, all IE versions work with the .htc files and no AddType needed. Computers with IE7 or less installed require the AddType, of course this is for servers that don't already serve the content type correctly.


Fri Jan 21, 2011 1:03 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.